Law Office of Penny Wymyczak-White Available 24/7 at 281-733-0264 - Criminal Defense

Law Office of Penny Wymyczak-White Available 24/7 at 281-733-0264 - Criminal Defense
Maximum effort to achieve maximum results

DWI Surcharge

What is a surcharge ?

A surcharge is an administrative penalty charged by the Texas Department of Public Safety as a fee for a person to maintain their driver's license after they have suffered either a DWI conviction or submitted to a chemical test which showed an alcohol CONCENTRATION of .16 or more. The surcharge is assessed for 3 years following either of the aforementioned events. Specifically, the surcharges are:

1) $1,000.00 per year for a DWI 1 st conviction;

2) $1,500.00 per year for subsequent DWI convictions; and,

3) $2,000.00 per year for registering a .16 or more.

If you do not pay the surcharge your drivers license will be suspended. The surcharge can be paid over the Internet and monthly payment arrangements can be set up. If you are a first time offender you may be eligible for pre trail diversion and may be able in some cases avoid the surcharge.

You can reach me 24/7 by calling me on my cell phone at 281-733-0264.

Law Office of Penny Wymyczak-White

1001 Texas Ave., Suite 1400
Houston, TX 77002
Map and Directions

Cell Phone, Call 24/7 281-733-0264

Phone: 713-568-4302
Toll Free: 888-629-3084
Fax: 713-225-5290